At the core of the Mendocino College Accreditation Process is the Accreditation Steering Committee that is a standing committee charged with oversight of all accreditation processes and ensuring that the College aligns with and can provide evidence of alignment with the ACCJC Standards. The committee is chaired by the Accreditation Liaison Officer (ALO). At Mendocino College, the ALO role is assigned to the Vice President of Academic Affairs. 

In spring of 2018, work toward completion the Institutional Self-Evaluation Report and preparation for the Comprehensive Site Visit became more structured and focused. In May of 2018, a large team, consisting of accreditation steering committee leaders, attended the ACCJC ISER training.

Leading up to the Comprehensive Review, it was decided that the Academic Senate President should be a co-chair of the committee to ensure that faculty, as represented by academic senate, would have full participation in the process. Membership on the committee includes key faculty, administrators and classified staff.

The process for completing the Institutional Self-Evaluation Report (ISER) became more structured and focused on writing the report in Fall 2018 when subcommittees were formed around each of the four ACCJC standards. Drafting of the standards began as subcommittees met and evidence began being collected to support each standard. 


NameTitleRole in ISER Completion
Debra PolakVice President of Academic Affairs; Accreditation Liaison OfficerAccreditation Steering Committee Chair, Standards I and IV Co-Chair
Catherine IndermillPsychology Faculty; Academic Senate PresidentAccreditation Steering Committee Co-Chair
Ulises VelascoVice President of Student ServicesStandard II Co-Chair
Eileen CichockiInterim Superintendent/President; Vice President of Administrative ServicesStandard III Chair
Rebecca MontesDean of InstructionStandard II Co-Chair
Dennis AseltyneDean of Applied AcademicsStandard I Subcommittee
Nicole MarinDirector of Human ResourcesStandard III Subcommittee
Vivian VarelaDistance Education Coordinator; Sociology FacultyStandard II Subcommittee
Nicholas PettiCulinary Arts Faculty; Academic SenatorStandard IV Subcommittee
Minerva FloresDirector of Institutional Effectiveness, Research & GrantsStandards I and IV Co-Chair
Tony NovelliMarketing and Community Relations SpecialistStandard IV Subcommittee
Chris OlsonSenior Programmer/Analyst; Classified Senate Part-PresidentTechnology Support