Coast Center


About   |

Mendocino College Coast Center is the newest location to be added to the Mendocino Lake Community College District (CCD). Other Centers are located in Willits (North County Center) and Lakeport (Lake Center), with the main campus in Ukiah. The goal of all Centers is to provide classes, services, and access for students in remote parts of the Mendocino Lake CCD. To this end, the Coast Center offers fall, spring, and summer classes; admissions and registration assistance; academic counseling; financial aid; EOPS; CalWorks; and other support services.

The beautiful Coast Center campus provides a friendly and accessible atmosphere for new and returning college students. Our faculty and staff offer continuing education and support services that lead to college degrees, certificates, improved job skills, transfers to other colleges and universities, and personal enrichment. It's never too soon (or too late!) to start thinking about what high education can do for you. For information and/or assistance, please call or stop by the Coast Center.

Coast Center

Coast Center Contact Information:

707.961.2200

Address:

Mendocino College Coast Center

1211 Del Mar Drive

Fort Bragg CA 95437

Fall and Spring Registration/Learning Common Hours:

Monday-Thursday 8:30pm - 6:00pm

Friday 8:00am - 2:00pm

Summer Registration/Learning Common Hours:

Monday-Thursday 8:00am-6:00pm

Friday-CLOSED

Krenov School

Fine Woodworking:

The Coast Center is proud to offer the Fine Woodworking Program, which leads to two possible certificates of achievement. Call 707.964.7056 for program information or visit https://thekrenovschool.org

Maps   |

The Coast Center

The Coast Center is located at 1211 Del Mar Drive in Fort Bragg CA, about three and a half hours north (172 miles) of San Francisco traveling on Highway 101. The campus consists of two main buildings: Building 100 contains the Registration/Learning Commons and eight classrooms dedicated to video conferencing, computer lab, the sciences, and most academic subjects except art. Building 100 also contains the Part Time Faculty offices. Building 200 is dedicated to art.

Click here for a PDF version.

Fine Woodworking

The Fine Woodworking Program in located in the Krenov building, an off campus site at 440 Alger Street in Fort Bragg CA, which is privately tucked away behind the Fort Bragg Middle School/Bus Parking Lot. Call 707.964.7056 to set up an appointment for a tour and to get more information, or visit https://thekrenovschool.org

New Student Information   |

Five Steps to Sign Up

  1. Apply at www.mendocino.edu "Apply now" or stop in the Learning Commons at the Coast Center for a paper application.
  2. Complete the Student Orientation at https://www2.mendocino.edu/app/tutorial/orientation/
  3. Placement Questionnaire: https://www.mendocino.edu/student-services/learning-center/placement
  4. Set up a counseling appointment: call 707.961.2200
  5. Enroll for classes at www.mendocino.edu "Register/WebAdvisor" or visit the Center at 1211 Del Mar Drive, Fort Bragg CA and we'll personally help you through the process.

Mendocino College students have access to a vairety of academic and financial support services. For example, Mendocino College students can ride Lake and Mendocino County Transit free with their student ID. All registered students can access the Food Pantry program. Many students are also eligible for financial aid support that can cover the cost of classes, books, and even living expenses. Links to a comprehensive list of support services is below in alphabetical order. For more information about navigating these services, please call the Coast Center.

Events   |

Week of Welcome (WOW): At the start of every fall and spring, the Coast Center hosts a free food event for our students. The Fall 2019 barbecue will be held in the quad area on Thursday, August 29th, noon-1:30pm (or while food lasts).

Job Fair: The Fort Bragg Unified School District, Mendocino College, the Mendocino County Office of Education, and many local businesses gather for a one-stop potential employment event in May.

Lab & Tutor Schedules   |

Fall 2019:

English Lab (ENG 60/160/560): MW 4:00-5:20pm with Joycelyn Trigg

Math Lab (MTH 40A/540): T 4:00-5:20pm with Carolina Duran, TH 11:00-12:20pm with Diana Dominguez

English Tutoring (all subjects): M 4-5:30pm with Ali

Math Tutoring: TTH 178-0170 Students only T 11-12pm; All Students T 12-1pm; All Students TH 1-2pm

 

Schedule of Classes   |

You may download a copy of current classes throughout all campus locations (including online) here: https://www.mendocino.edu/academics/class-schedule

Faculty & Staff   |

Staff:

Katherine Brown - Operations Supervisor kbrown@mendocino.edu

Lisa Caito - Center Assistant lcaito@mendocino.edu

Counselors:

David Gonsalves - dgonsalves@mendocino.edu

Melanie Dease - mdease2@mendocino.edu

Faculty:

ADJ: Andrew Kendl - akendl@mendocino.edu; Joseph Shaw - jshaw@mendocino.edu

AGR: Teresa Sholars - tsholars@mendocino.edu

ANT: Tobias Green - tgreen@mendocino.edu

ART: Mina Cohen - mcohen@mendocino.edu; Evan Hobart - ehobart@mendocino.edu; Jonathan Palmer - jpalmer@mendocino.edu; Jessica Thompson - jrthompson@mendocino.edu

BSK: Karen Rakovsky - krokovsky@mendocino.edu: Teresa Rodriguez - trodriguez@mendocino.edu

BUS: Stephen O'Mara - somara@mendocino.edu

CHM: Michael Grady - mgrady@mendocino.edu

COM: Diana Coryat - dcoryat@mendocino.edu; Lorraine Hee Chorley - lheechorley@mendocino.edu

CSC: Rebecca Bailey - rbailey@mendocino.edu; Mateo Ortiz - mortiz@mendocino.edu

DAM: Mateo Ortiz - mortiz@mendocino.edu

ENG: Molly Dwyer - mdwyer@mendocino.edu; Lisa Locascio - llocascio@mendocino.edu; Joycelyn Trigg - jtrigg@mendocino.edu

ESL: Jennifer Clark - jclark@mendocino.edu; Melissa Kuhn Fornari - mfornari@mendocino.edu

HLH: Susie Black Diemer - sblackdiemer@mendocino.edu

HST: Joseph Bell - jbell@mendocino.edu; Tobias Green - tgreen@mendocino.edu

MTH: Diana Dominguez - ddominguez@mendocino.edu; Carolina Duran - cduran@mendocino.edu

MUS: Jenni Windsor - jwindsor@mendocino.edu

NRS: Tanya Smart - tsmart@mendocino.edu

SPN: Ana Loreto Rojas - arojas@mendocino.edu

THE: Diana Coryat - dcoryat@mendocino.edu; Virginia Reed - vreed@mendocino.edu

WOD: Laura Mays - lmays@mendocino.edu

 

Dual Enrollment   |

What is Dual Enrollment:

Dual Enrollment occurs when high school students are enrolled in both high school and college classes simultaneously. College classes completed by high school students can count as units towards their high school diploma and their college transcript.

Center Resources   |

Counseling Appointments:

The Coast Center offers on-site academic counseling for students. To make an appointment, call 707.961.2200 or stop by the Registration Desk in the Learning Commons.

Disability Resource Center Appointments:

The Coast Center offers on-site Disability Resource Center counseling appoints once a month. Interested students should book appointments early. To make an appointment, call 707.961.2200 or 707.468.3031.

Financial Aid Appointments:

The Coast Center offers on-site financial aid assistance once per month. Interested students should book appointments early by calling 707.961.2200.

Food Pantry:

The Coast Center Food Pantry is available to all currently registered students. The goal of the Food Pantry is to provide short-term food resources to students in need. To access the Food Pantry, students fill out a request card at the Registration Desk.

Free Bus Passes:

Mendocino College students ride MTA and Lake Transit free! Once registered, obtain a student ID, which you then present upon boarding a bus. You can request your student ID at the Registration Desk.

Lending Library:

The Coast Center has a reserve library with books available for in house use for many courses offered at the Coast Center each semester. Books can only be used in the Learning Commons, but students can make copies of important pages to take home. You will need to leave your Driver's License with the Center Assistant while you use the textbook.

NEW for Fall 2019:  The Coast Center also has a small supply of textbooks that can be checked out! Simply renew by due date. See the Center Assistant at the Registration Desk to find out which books are available.

 

Useful Links   |

Employment Opportunities   |

Visit our HR pages to see what positions we are currently hiring for: https://www.mendocino.edu/college/employment/open-positions